I “Just” Dance

When I tell people I’m a dance major, I almost always get the same responses: “Oohh, that’s cool” in a concerned tone, or “What’re you gonna do with that?” It’s the same frustrating limbo over and over again. Content and depth of my work, whether it’s work for my studio dance classes or my academic dance classes, is constantly compared to the work of Bio or IR majors. I’m always finding myself saying “IT’S WORK!” and I’m always finding other’s say “You ‘just’ dance…”

It’s work to get yourself out of bed in the morning knowing that you’re about to dance for hours without a lunch break. It’s work studying and writing papers for my classes (yes, dance majors do those things too). And on top of it, it’s work doing all of these things when my body aches from studio classes AND rehearsals.

This week I was working on a kinesiology exam and found myself studying for hours on end–just like any other college student and any other major (although I do it with sore hamstrings and foot cramps).

Kinesiology Study Session

Kinesiology Study Session

 

One thought on “I “Just” Dance

Leave a comment